Proceedings of the June, 1969, General Meeting

Organization: The Southern African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy
Pages: 3
Publication Date: Unavailable
The June General Meeting of the Institute was held in Kelvin House, Johannesburg, on 18th June, 1969, at 4.30 p.m. Mr J. K. E. Douglas (Vice-President) was in the Chair. There were also present fourteen Members, Messrs R. J. Adamson, F. P. Bath, D. M. Jamieson, D. G. Maxwell, Dr J. T. McIntyre, and Mr P. W. J. van Rensburg (Council Members), Messrs B. F. Berry, A. F. Lee, J. E. van Leeuwen, G. G. Nicolson, N. F. Peverett, Dr A. G. Raper, Messrs E. R. Rudolph and H. R. Reid. Five Associate Members, Messrs T. D. Brown, M. R. Fuller-Good, J. S. Freer, Dr P. R. Jochens and Mr D. A. Viljoen. One Graduate, Mr P. G. Mrkusic. Five Students, Messrs N. A. Barcza, J. A. Cruise, R. P. W. Henrard, D. I. Ossin and J. C. M. Wethmar. Nine Visitors, Messrs M. Badenhorst, N. J. Bovey, H. H. Herold, Dr H. J. S. Kriek, Messrs M. S. Rennie, B. B. Segal, S. Selmer-Olsen, O. A. W. Strydom and B. Yates. Secretary, Mr D. C. Visser. Total present: Thirty-six. MINUTES The Vice-President: "May we confirm the minutes of the Monthly General Meetings held on 24th March, 16th April and 21st May, 1969 as published in the Journal?" Agreed. MEMBERSHIP The Vice-President: "I have much pleasure in announcing that the names of the undermentioned candidates having been published in accordance with By-Law 5.2.2, Council has elected them to membership of the Institute in the following grades: Members: Wilfred Desmond Morgan, Abraham Kriek. Associate Members: Rodger Neville Hampson, Robert Richard Booth Lodge. Graduates: Beverley Hugh Waiters, Gwynne Hugh Johnston. Students: Colin Edward Alvery, Peter Marthinus Haikes, Charles Aubrey Husband, John Nowell Randell, Frederick Johannes Jacobus Blaauw, Johannes Andries Breytenbach, Peter Vos, Frederik Hendrik Coetzee, Petrus Nicolaas Jacobus Smit, Patrick Alien Boardman, Robert Nelson Guest. "May I welcome the newly elected members to the Institute." (Applause.) ELECTION OF SCRUTINEERS FOR THE 1969-70 BALLOT FOR COUNCIL The Vice-President: "In terms of By-Law 9.4, I now call for nominations for scrutineers for the 1969-70 ballot for CounciL" P. W. J. van Rensborg: "I wish to nominate Messrs R. C. J. Goode, V. C. Robinson, J. K. E. Douglas, P. Lambooy, D. G. Maxwell, H. Britten and H. Simon as scrutineers."
Full Article Download:
(149 kb)