Proceedings of the May, 1969, General Meeting

Organization: The Southern African Institute of Mining and Metallurgy
Pages: 2
Publication Date: Unavailable
The May General Meeting of the Institute was held in Kelvin House, Johannesburg, on 21st May, 1969, at 4.30 p.m. Mr J. K. E. Douglas (Vice-President) was in the Chair. There were also present twenty-two Members, including Messrs F. P. Bath, M. Bareza, A. R. C. Fowler, D. M. Jamieson, C. M. Mavrocordatos, D. G. Maxwell and J. A. Nixon (Council Members), Messrs T. Davidson, G. L. Diering, E. T. Dunstan, D. E. H. French, K. Hodgson, O. A. E. Jackson, A. F. Lee, A. Louw, D. L. Starkey, R. K. Wheeler and M. Youngworth. Four Associate Members including Messrs D. Blair Hook and G. R. Still. One Student Mr N. A. Barcza. Thirteen Visitors, including Messrs S. H. Ash, D. L. G. Bayne, E. Bayne, S. Bell, W. S. Garrett, L. S. Gibbs, R. C. Hamilton, M. Maguire, D. Rose and J. D. van Niekerk. Total Present: Fourty-one. OBITUARY The Vice-President: "It is my sad duty to announce the death of the following member of the Institute: Thomas Spence Haldane, Member, who joined the Institute in 1924 and passed away on 21st December, 1968. As a mark of respect to the memory of the deceased and in sympathy with the bereaved, those present stood and observed silence for a few moments. MINUTES The Vice-President requested that confirmation of the minutes of the previous meeting be held over as they would only be appearing in the Journal of the following month. He also requested that confirmation of the minutes of the 75th Anniversary Meeting be held over. MEMBERSHIP The Vice-President: "I have much pleasure in announcing that the names of the under-mentioned candidates have been published in accordance with By-Law 5.2.2, and Council has elected them to membership of the Institute in the following grades: Members: Gideon Jacob Haumann, Peter John Cumming, Ian Stanley Dudman, Roderick Goldston Murchison. Associate Members: Francois Alwyn Beyers Fouche, Alan Marsh, Johannes Petrus van der Westhuysen, Waldo Edmund Stumpf, Ian Nicholas Ridley. Affiliates: Lutgerus Kolver Jooste, Roger Ainsley Ralph Kebble, Edward John Wainwright, Lewis William Davies. Graduate: Clive Graham Knobbs. MEMBER TRANSFERED TO A HIGHER GRADE From Student to Associate Member: Diethard OUo Eduard Fahrbach. I welcome the newly elected members to the Institute and congratulate the member who has been transferred to a higher grade." (Applause).
Full Article Download:
(121 kb)