Exploration Implications of Palaeomagnetic Overprint Chronology in the McArthur Basin

Giddings J W, ; Plumb K A, ; Wyborn L,
Organization: The Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy
Pages: 0
Publication Date: Jan 1, 1994
The McArthur, Balma (new name) and Habgood Groups are thick (up to 4.5 km) correlative sequences of shallow water evaporitic carbonates, mudstones and sandstones that are exposed largely within the Batten, and southern and northern Walker Fault Zones (Batten and Walker Troughs) of the McArthur Basin respectively. Recent re-mapping of the Walker Fault Zone has provided data for refined stratigraphic correlations between these groups. Two significant hiatuses are now recognised within the Balma Group (base of Vaughton Siltstone and base of Yarrawirrie Formation) and these may represent tectonically-generated sequence boundaries which may correlate with similar local hiatuses within the McArthur Group such as at the base of the Teena Dolomite and Lynott Formation respectively.
Full Article Download:
(463 kb)